top of page

OUR HISTORY

The story of

Saint-Amour

This evocative name of Saint-Amour comes from a Christian soldier named Romain Amor. He decides to flee the massacres of the Swiss Valais, and takes refuge in Gaul. He then founded a monastery located on a summit which dominates the valley of the Saône. It was in the Middle Ages that the cultivation of the vine had its origins with the religious orders of the Chapter of Saint-Vincent de Mâcon.

In 1793, during the Revolution, the name of Saint-Amour disappeared in favor of the name "Bellevue", but 3 years later, the town regained its original name, and became Saint-Amour-Bellevue.

The Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée of  Saint-Amour was born by decree on February 8, 1946 by Louis Dailly, who believed in the remarkable character of the terroir. Today, the Saint-Amour cru has grown significantly in notoriety and has a large share of the Beaujolais grand crus.

Verre de vin rouge
les raisins

CRU'S
CHARACTERISTICS

The Cru Saint-Amour is located in the town of Saint-Amour-Bellevue (71).

The soils are marked by a great diversity because they can be composed of old alluvial clays or clays with flint but also of sandstone, granite and shale or even limestone rocks. The altitude is 240 to 320m with medium and moderate slopes.

From a morphological and lithological point of view, Saint-Amour is both complex and varied. We cross several geological units there before reaching the piedmont and alluvial formations.

On either side of the granite and its sandy, even sandy-clayey soils, the meta-diorites and meta-basalts of the “blue stones” mingle with other rocks that look gray-pink siliceous. Very heterogeneous, these lands nevertheless have a strong typicity.

 

The Domaine des Pins in a few figures:

Area
Saint-Amour AOP : 8 ha
Chardonnay : 0,6 ; 0.3 ha for Burgundian cremant and 0,3ha for Beaujolais Villages white

Varied soils : Sandstone on the surface and clays in depth at La Folie and Cornillons, alluvial deposits and ancient foothills in Guinchay, Plasses and Pochieux, granites at Bonet and Tête de Bonet.

bottom of page

NOTRE HISTOIRE

L'histoire de

Saint-Amour

Ce nom si évocateur de Saint-Amour provient d'un soldat chrétien prénommé Romain Amor. Il décide de fuir les massacres du Valais suisse, et se réfugia en Gaule. Il fonda alors un monastère situé sur un sommet qui domine la vallée de la Saône. C'est au Moyen-âge que la culture de la vigne trouve ses origines avec les ordres religieux du Chapitre de Saint-Vincent de Mâcon.

En 1793, à la Révolution, le nom de Saint-Amour disparaît au profit du nom "Bellevue", mais 3 ans plus tard, la commune retrouve son nom d'origine, et devient Saint-Amour-Bellevue.

L’Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée de  Saint-Amour est née par décret le 8 février 1946 de Louis Dailly, qui croyait au caractère remarquable du terroir. Aujourd’hui le cru Saint-Amour a fortement grandi en notoriété et taille une part belle aux grands crus du Beaujolais.

Verre de vin rouge
les raisins

CARACTERISTIQUES

DU CRU

Le cru Saint-Amour se situe sur la commune de Saint-Amour-Bellevue (71).

Les sols sont marqués par une grande diversité car ils peuvent être composés d’argiles d’alluvions anciennes ou d’argiles à silex mais aussi de grès, de granit et de schistes voire même de roches calcaires. L’altitude est de 240 à 320m avec des pentes moyennes et modérées.

Le Saint-Amour est d’un point de vue morphologique et lithologique, à la fois complexe et varié. On y croise plusieurs unités géologiques avant d’atteindre les formations de piémonts et alluvions.

De part et d’autre du granit et de ses sols sableux, voire sablo- argileux, les méta-diorites et méta-basaltes des « pierres bleues » se mêlent à d’autres roches d’apparence siliceuses grises-rosées. Très hétérogènes, ces terrains ont toutefois une typicité forte.

 

Le Domaine des Pins en quelques chiffres :

Surface
Saint-Amour AOP : 8 ha
Chardonnay : 0,6 ha dont 0,3 en Crémant de Bourgogne et 0,3 en Beaujolais Villages Blanc

Sols variés : Grès en surface et argiles en profondeur à la Folie et aux Cornillons, alluvions et piémonts anciens en Guinchay, aux Plasses et aux Pochieux, granits au Bonet et Tête de Bonet.